VIRGINIA BOARD OF NURSING VIRGINIA BOARD OF MEDICINE

TITLE OF REGULATIONS: 18 VAC 90-40-10 et seq.

REGULATIONS FOR PRESCRIPTIVE AUTHORITY FOR LICENSED NURSE PRACTITIONERS

STATUTORY AUTHORITY: § 54.1-2957.01, § 54.1-3303, § 54.1-3401, § 54.1-3408 OF THE CODE OF VIRGINIA

Effective: April 11, 2001

VIRGINIA BOARD OF NURSING VIRGINIA BOARD OF MEDICINE

TITLE OF REGULATIONS: 18 VAC 90-40-10 et seq.

REGULATIONS FOR PRESCRIPTIVE AUTHORITY FOR LICENSED NURSE PRACTITIONERS

PART I. GENERAL PROVISIONS.

18 VAC 90-40-60. Reinstatement of prescriptive authority.

- A. A nurse practitioner whose prescriptive authority has lapsed may reinstate within one renewal period by payment of the current renewal fee and the late renewal fee.
- A.B. An applicant A nurse practitioner who is applying for reinstatement of lapsed prescriptive authority after one renewal period shall:
 - 1. File the required application and practice agreement as required for renewal in 18 VAC 90-40-50; and
 - 2. Provide evidence of a current, unrestricted license to practice as a nurse practitioner in Virginia; and
 - 3. Pay the fee required for reinstatement of a lapsed authorization as prescribed in 18 VAC 90-40-70.
 - 4. If the authorization has lapsed for a period of five or more years, the applicant must provide proof of:
 - a. Continued practice as a licensed nurse practitioner with prescriptive authority in another state; or
 - b. Continuing education consisting of 30 contact hours in pharmacology or pharmacotherapeutics.
- BC. An applicant for reinstatement of suspended or revoked authorization shall:
 - Request a hearing pursuant to the provisions of the Virginia Administrative Process Act (§ 9-6.14:1 of the Code of Virginia) to be held before the committee;
 - Present evidence of competence to resume practice as a nurse practitioner with prescriptive authority; and
 - 3. Pay the fee for reinstatement of a suspended or revoked authorization as prescribed in 18 VAC 90-40-70; and

3.4. Meet the qualifications and resubmit the application and fees as required for initial authorization in 18

VAC 90-40-40 of this chapter.

18 VAC 90-40-70. Fees for prescriptive authority.

The following fees have been established by the boards:

1. Initial issuance of prescriptive authority	\$50
2. Biennial renewal	\$25
3. Late renewal	\$10
3 4. Reinstatement of lapsed authorization	\$ 25 60
4 5. Reinstatement of suspended or revoked authorization	\$ 50 <u>85</u>
5 6. Duplicate of authorization	\$ 10 5
6 Z. Return check charge	\$ 15 25

Certification

I certify that this regulation is full, true, and correctly dated.

Nancy K. Durrett, R.N. Executive Director Virginia Board of Nursing

William L. Harp, M.D. Executive Director Virginia Board of Medicine